Chicken / Food / Recipe

Pad Thai Rissoles

We have an annual rissole competition between my friends and I. It’s only been running for two years but already its a huge hit. We even have a trophy (which is about to undergo surgery to look less like a ball of concrete on a stick).

Last year was all beef rissoles, and I made a beef and cranberry sauce rissole (which didn’t score too well, people said it was too ‘fruity’). But I had an idea, an idea to make an Asian inspired rissole.

So a year passes and the competition comes again, and I decide, why the hell not! Let’s make Pad Thai rissoles!

Before I give you the recipe I should mention I can middle of the pack, but only because I made my rissoles shaped like burger patties. D: The photos are the ones I made the next day, expertly shaped into rissole shapes.

My overall scores which are out of ten were 2 (Shape and Colour)/ 8 (Cooking)/ 8 (Taste).

So without further ado, here’s a recipe to make Pad Thai rissoles:

Ingredients:
1 capsicum
1/2 onion
1/2 C crushed peanuts
Hand full of fresh coriander

.5kg chicken mince
2 eggs

bread crumbs

Pad Thai paste:
2tbs peanut butter
1tbs ground rice (you could exchange this for breadcrumbs, I was minimising the gluten for TBC)
4cms lemon grass
2tbs fish sauce
1tbs ground coriander
1/2tbs peanut oil
2 cloves of garlic
1cm square (approx.) of galangal (you can replace this with ginger)
1/2 juice of one lime
1/2 a chilli (I found the chilli a little overpowering the next day, so if you’re going to store the paste overnight I’d consider using less)

Method:
Chop the onion and capsicum very finely and roughly chop the coriander: mix these together with the crushed peanuts in a bowl.

Next take all the paste ingrediants and blend until a paste consistency.

Now mix the cut vegetables, the paste, the meat and the eggs together. Pat into rissole shapes and cover with breadcrumbs. Store in the fridge to help maintain the shape when cooking. If you have trouble making the rissole mix into rissoles, chill the mixture for at least an hour before shaping the rissoles.

Fry on low to medium heat on both sides till the outside is golden and the inside is cooked. Check if it’s cooked by pressing in the centre, it should feel quite solid.

I’d also suggest just making meatballs with this recipe and serve with a salad of julienned carrot and cucumber and capsicum.

pad thai rissoles

(Normally I would take more photos but cooking and photographing is very hard.)

Leave a Reply

