Chicken / Food / Review / Sheep

Grill’d With Whit

816 818

I have a Grill’d quite close to where I live, but these days I rarely think to go out for them. Like cookies to Cookie Monster, burgers are a some-times food. Burgin’ is no longer common to me, so when Whit of DineWhitMe fame, asked me to go out to eat burgers I was almost surprised.

Full disclosure: Grill’d offered Whit this meal on the house for her review and opinion, and to advertise their new Cottesloe location. I try to be unbiased when I write but please take that into account when reading.

819 823

I’ve actually always really liked the decor of Grill’d, most burger bars have this really hipster feel that I like. Exposed brick, beautiful drop lights, sweet neon signs, I’m a sucker for this atmosphere. We got a wine, because why the hell not. It’s not something I would have thought to do, but after airing this Shiraz was really nice. Look, I enjoyed it, but for the price I would defiantly stick with beer/cider and a burger. There’s something about a burger that calls our for a cold bottled bevy.

824

828_1 829_1

 I’ve had the pomegranate salad at Grill’d before and found it overwhelmingly cheesy, needing more leaves to balance out everything, so I was nicely surprised by the mushroom salad. Ah! This mushroom salad! It was really great, sooooo great. Look it’s just mushroom with a balsamic based salad dressing, but it was really fresh and delicious. It’s almost as good as a burger, but not quite. The chips are solid, with their mixed herb salt and aoli, they’re nice one the side.

830_1

The lamb burg is great, but Whit’s spicy burger, not so much. I’ve never enjoyed the texture of roasted capsicum in a burger before and so it just wasn’t a winner. The lamb burger, with it’s hummus it’s excellent though.

Grill’d, I have to say I don’t really understand why their burgers are meant to be more healthy than other burger bars. Though, certainly more healthy than a Maccas meal. But as a burger bar it does what it says, has a fancy burger with a large menu that’s sure to please.

– The Brazen Photographer.

Leave a Reply

